Life’s a Beach – Sweet Pineapple Galette

There’s no better time of year than when pineapple is in season and its aroma and taste are as sweet as candy. Whole Foods was running a special the other day so I of course had to scoop one up. I had been looking through my Williams & Sonoma Pies cookbook this past week and saw a recipe for a pineapple galette so immediately I was excited since I knew they were in season and I was bound to find a nice ripe one.  Although, I have to say I went into the same Whole Foods two weeks ago looking for pineapple and was deeply upset to pick one up to smell the bottom (that’s how you test them…that and the “scale” color) and found nothing but fuzzy mold! Blech. This was the same for the rest of the pineapple family he was chilling with. I feared it would be a few more weeks until I found a good one.  But alas, the Whole Foods pulled through the second time around.

Now what is a galette you ask? Funny, as my roommates had the same question. To explain it best I will refer you to this website from thekitchn.com which puts it quite simply: Pie v. Tart v. Galette I love the idea of a galette as it is more rustic looking and very free-form which I like.  For some reason every time I turn on a cooking show these past few weeks someone is making one. Giada’s fig galette and Jacques Pepin’s which he made on Emeril really got me wanting to try my hand at one.

Looking back I realized that I should have posted some pictures of the actual cutting of the pineapple. The easiest way to start is by giving him a haircut. Take a long serrated (bread) knife and cut off the top leafy part as well as the bottom. Then start shaving down the sides without cutting off too much flesh and get as close to the skin as possible. Then to remove the “eyes” carefully take the tip of the knife and make diagonal slits above and below each row of eyes. This will give the pineapple a swirled pattern. Then turn the pineapple on its side and make as many 1/4 in. thick slices as possible. Mine yielded about 9 decent slices and about three scrawny pieces that I of course stood there and ate while I finished prepping. (Little known fact. If you eat pineapple or drink pineapple juice two times a day about three days in a row your skin starts to smell sweet.)

Anyway, once you have your slices you need to core them. I took a small paring knife and made a little circle incision into each one (this is where two years of being pre-med in college came in handy). If you have a small, round cookie cutter it will save you time and if you have a pineapple corer consider yourself awesome — you saved yourself from a juice bath. After you’ve finished licking the counter of pineapple scraps, place the slices on a plate to chill in the fridge. Now it’s time to bake!

Pineapple Galette

as adapted from Williams and Sonoma : Pie & Tart

Makes one 9 in. galette or roughly 8 servings

Basic Pie Crust: (You can also use your own pie crust recipe if you prefer)

1  1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup cold unsalted butter cubed

3 Tbsp ice water

  • In a large bowl mix flour, sugar,  and salt.
  • Cut the butter into the flour until the pieces are smaller than peas
  • Add water and mix until combined
  • Transfer dough to work surface, shape into ball, then flatten into disk
  • Flour work surface and roll out dough to 12 in. in diameter and 1/4 in. thick

Galette:

1 pineapple trimmed as described above

1 recipe for pie crust (see above)

3-4 Tbsp packed light brown sugar

1 Tbsp cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

  • Place dough on baking sheet lined with parchment paper
  • Overlap the rings of pineapples to cover the middle of the dough leaving a border of 1-2 inches
  • Fold the edges of the dough over the edges of the pineapple leaving the center open (you can crimp or pleat the dough however you like)
  • Dust the pineapple with the brown sugar

  • Put pats of butter over sugar (I found it easier to pinch little pieces off with my fingers and drop onto the galette)
  • Place in refrigerator to firm the dough about 20-30 minutes
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees then place in lower third oven rack
  • Cook about 50 minutes until the crust becomes golden in color and the pineapple is soft when pierced with a fork
  • Cool slightly and serve warm



If you have never made your own pie crust this is a great recipe to learn on as you really can’t screw it up. The dough doesn’t need to be perfectly round and the edges are free-form. No fluting or crimping needed!

Eating this almost makes you think you are on a white sandy beach with a cool colada in your hand…doesn’t it?? Okay maybe not but it’s definitely a light and refreshing dessert.


**Update – I wanted a snack so I just grabbed a cold slice  of leftover galette from the fridge and it was fantastic. If I heat it I like it with a small scoop of ice cream.

Leave a Reply

