Food Photo Contest: Rick Bayless’s Twitter Challenge Week 2

DSC_0443

Week 2-

Last night Rick posted his recipe for Week 2 of the Twitter Recipe Challenge:

@Rick_Bayless This week’s recipe (harder than last weeks): Roasted Enchiladas w Creamy Tomatillo Sauce and Melted Cheese. Recipe is my next Tweet

@Rick_Bayless  Rst 1#tomtllos,1 on,3 grlc,3 serranos;puree;sear n oil 2 thkn;simr w 2c broth,.5c crema.Oil,micrwv 12 torts,roll w rstd veg,sauce, chs, bake

Okay, so my initial thoughts are that it’s easy enough to find the ingredients, but is the roasted vegetable filling supposed to be something other than the roasted tomatillos, onion, and peppers? I assumed the tomatillos would be incorporated into the sauce so I’m thinking he may fill the enchiladas with something else…hmm. Thoughts?

This is where it starts to get a little sticky with interpreting the recipe without a copy of the cookbook.

Update –

After spending a very hot, humid few days of tracking down everything needed for the enchiladas I fired up the oven yesterday (mind you, it was a scorching 110 in DC with the heat index) and attempted to master the cryptic “tweeted” recipe.

On Thursday I found some blue corn tortillas from the mercado in Clarendon along with some of the biggest tomatillos I have ever seen!

Like last week I have posted my version of the Twitter recipe with the ingredients and substitutions I’ve made.

Roasted Enchiladas with Creamy Tomatillo Sauce

Serves 4

1 lb. roasted tomatillos
3 serrano peppers, roasted (I couldn’t find these anywhere! Used jalapeno instead)
3 cloves of garlic, roasted (I used 5 small cloves)
1 onion, roasted
1/2 C. crema
2 C. stock
Roasted vegetables for filler (I used beets, onion, zucchini, 2 types of squash, 2 small eggplant)
Salt & Pepper

  • Thinly slice or roughly chop the filler vegetables
  • Roast in a baking dish with a bit of olive oil, salt &pepper, for about an hour at 375
  • Under a broiler roast the tomatillos, serranos, and garlic (leave skin on garlic)*
  • Pan roast onion
  • Flip the vegetables under the broiler after 5 minutes. Cook until charred
  • Peel skin off peppers and garlic
  • Add roasted tomatillos, onion, garlic, peppers to blender and puree
  • Sear tomatillo mixture in a large skillet with oil to thicken
  • Add crema and stock to pan and continue to thicken
  • Lightly oil 12 corn tortillas and microwave to soften
  • Immediately fill tortillas with vegetables
  • Spread 1/3 sauce on baking dish
  • Arrange filled tortillas in dish
  • Cover with remaining sauce
  • Top with cheese
  • Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or until cheese starts to bubble and brown

*For the 10 minutes I used the broiler I placed the roasting vegetables to the bottom of the oven so they would continue to roast and not burn. After shutting off the broiler, returned the oven to 375 and continued to roast them.

Here’s the final product:

And here is my submitted photo:

If you submitted a photo please share as I love to see what I am up against! Best of luck to everyone, again.

Comments
8 Responses to “Food Photo Contest: Rick Bayless’s Twitter Challenge Week 2”
  1. Angela says:

    Looks so great! How did it taste? This is such a great challenge.

  2. The taste was pretty great! I thought it was kind of weird to have so many roasted veggies as a filling. If I make these again I will fill them with shredded chicken or pork along with some grilled onions and peppers instead of bulky things like beets.

  3. Looks delicious! I’m always looking for good veg options and I never remember to look at Rick’s books. I love his food!

    • I agree! While I’m not vegetarian I love having meatless meals. I think it’s a true culinary test to create a satiating meal while using only fruits/veg. If you end up making this let me know how it turns out. I think that thinner, quicker cooking vegetables would really work in this recipe.

  4. C says:

    Salsa verde is never one of the those things I almost always avoid making. The roasting, the blending – I just can’t even be bothered but this looks absolutely delicious and worth the effort.

    • I’ve always been the same way!! I often found it cheaper to just buy a jar and leave the work to others. However this recipe for the salsa alone is worth making. The crema adds an entirely different dimension to anything you’d find in a jar. Also, 10 mins under a broiler then popping it into a blender is a sinch. Let me know if you end up making this! :)

  5. Those enchiladas look amazing! Great photos!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

